Africa Beyond the Headlines: AfCFTA, WTO, and Africa’s Post-COVID Economy | Harvard University Center for African Studies

Date:  Tuesday, March 30, 2021, 8:00am to 9:00am

Location: Virtual Event – Details Below

Africa Beyond the Headlines: AfCFTA, WTO, and Africa’s Post-COVID Economy

Trading under the African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA) commenced on January 1, 2021, bringing together the world’s largest free trade area since formation of the World Trade Organization (WTO). Two months later, on March 1, 2021, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala was appointed to serve as the first woman and first African Director-General of the WTO. AfCFTA is anticipated to increase intra-Africa trade by more than 50%, bringing together 1.2 billion people and $2 trillion in economic activity. These developments have been described by the World Economic Forum as a “global game changer.” The panel will explore the opportunities for Africa’s post-COVID economy and the challenges that still remain under AfCFTA, including the Fourth Industrial Revolution and Africa’s transition to an industrialized economy capable of transforming livelihoods.

Speakers:

  • Dr. Joy Kategekwa
    Senior Strategy Advisor for Africa
    UNDP Regional Bureau for Africa
  • Professor Célestin Monga
    Visiting Professor of Public Policy
    Harvard Kennedy School of Government
  • Professor Euvin Naidoo
    Senior Lecturer of Business Administration
    Harvard Business School
  • Moderator: Dr. Zoe Marks, Lecturer in Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School of Government

5:00AM PST | 8:00AM EST | 1:00PM WAT | 2:00PM CAT | 3:00PM EAT

Register here: https://harvard.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_8ZiNeTnGTxOx1tZ_OaxYQA

ORGANIZER: Harvard Center for African Studies

See related:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s