Feb 11: China’s Meat Revolution and its Need for Feed

Tuesday, February 11, 2013

10:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m. CST
11:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m. EST
4:00 p.m.–5:00 p.m. GMT

Register now!

Industrial meat production is showing serious signs of stress around the world. Bird flu cases are surging in China’s poultry. Porcine Epidemic Diarrhea Virus (PEDv) is spreading in the U.S. At the same time the meat industry grows more and more concentrated. China’s meat and dairy sectors have undergone a massive transformation in the last thirty years from backyard farming toward a highly destructive model of industrial meat production. This transition towards “scale, standardization and consolidation” continues to unfold. IATP’s first webinar in this series, along with the publication of four in-depth studies on China’s meat and feed industries, will feature China’s “need for feed,” taking us to China and Latin America. Increased demand for animal feed is putting tremendous pressure on land and water resources.

Environmental Justice
Environment Ethics
Food-Matters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s